The Oklahoma Eagle Newswire


The Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission and Tulsa Public Schools have announced students chosen as the Class of 2020 Students of Excellence. The students’ recognition certificates are posted on the City of Tulsa website:

The Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission partners with Tulsa Public Schools annually to acknowledge outstanding Indian students from each of the high schools. Resource advisers and high school counselors together select a graduating senior from each high school. Selection criteria include academic performance, cultural activity engagement, and participation in the Indian education program.

These students are typically recognized during an annual Indian education awards assembly. This year due to the COVID crisis, these students are receiving certificates in the mail signed by the chair of the commission to recognize their award. The Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission proudly recognizes these Class of 2020 Students of Excellence:


Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission 

TPS Students of Excellence 



Booker T. Washington High School 

Joseph Sullivan – Cherokee

Central High School 

Tyasha Trimble – Mvskoke

Daniel Webster High School 

Dominique Kilgore – Cherokee

Kobe Spencer – Mvskoke

East Central High School 

Dailyn Seals – Mvskoke

Edison Preparatory School 

Emily Workman – Mvskoke

Nathan Hale High School 

Andrew Carpenter – Peoria

Memorial High School 

Lyric Hawkins – Mvskoke

Will Rogers College High School

Madyson Houston – Pawnee

Street School 

Kitana Foreman – United Keetowah Band of Cherokees

Tulsa MET High School 

Rio Martinez – Potawatomi

McLain High School for Science and Technology

Kiontay Walker – Mvskoke