The Oklahoma Eagle Newswire



The Alpha Xi Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc Tulsa has elected and installed its Leadership Team for 2018-2020. The new officers are Alnetta Morris, president; Sharon Briggs, Vice president; Barbara Ross, Treasurer; Lajuana Jones, Financial Secretary, Dr. Sylvia Muse, Secretary and Marcene Mackey, Public Relations. Installation of officers were held at the Rudisill Regional Library and conducted by Parliamentarian, Barbara E. Thompson.

President Alnetta Morris is Co-owner of Solid Foundation Preparatory Academy, graduate of Langston University and Oklahoma State University, a Status of Women Honoree of Sigma Gamma Rho and is active with the Junior League, & Y Lead.  organizations.

Vice President, Sharon Briggs is Clinical Director at North Tulsa Counseling Services, graduate of Langston University and volunteers with Tulsa Reading partner, Tulsa Reentry and Tulsa Center for the Homeless.

Treasurer, Barbara Billings Ross, is District Training Coordinator US Army Corps of Engineers, a graduate of Langston University and volunteers for Color Me True, Modern Woodmen of America and others.

Financial Secretary, Lajuana C. Jones is Claims Examiner at the VA, graduate of Langston University, State Youth Teacher for the Oklahoma Baptist State Congress of Christian Education and sponsors the Muskogee Azalea Pick Up.

Secretary, Dr. Sylvia Muse, is Associate Professor of Developmental Education at Tulsa Community College, graduate of Oklahoma State University(PhD) and volunteers with the John Hope Franklin Center for Reconciliation, and others.

Epistoleus, Marcene Mackey is a retired educator from Tulsa Community College, Immediate Past President Oklahoma Baptist State Women’s Auxiliary, Life Member of SGR graduate of Langston University and Northeastern State University(Masters).

Mary P. Walker is immediate past President of the chapter.